top of page

About us

Founder, Martin Dobson, set up Easy Read Online in 2009. He has 25 years of experience producing Easy Read information. Prior to setting up the business he spent 10 years managing a Self Advocacy Organisation for people with learning disabilities.
 
Easy Read Online have built and maintained strong working relations with many organisations including government departments, local authorities, health & care services, charity, voluntary & support groups, housing associations, arts & culture organisations.

We are committed to the social model of disability which recognises that disabled people are limited by barriers in society rather than their disability. Part of removing those barriers is to make information inclusive and accessible, so that disabled people can take more control over their own lives.

We are passionate about producing Easy Read information that serves the people who use it. Beyond our work with clients we also:

  • Run an Easy Read Facebook group – an online community for requesting and signposting to existing ‘Easy Read’ information & identifying gaps in the availability of accessible information.

 

  • Provide social value to people with learning disabilities by involving them in our work, and supporting them with theirs. 

  • Produce various free 'Easy Read' materials, like the guidance documents we created during covid-19 to help people navigate changing restrictions. 

  • Supported the United Nations with their in-house communications guidelines to involve more disabled people in their work around the world.

 

  • Worked with humanitarian services in UAE to establish Easy Read standards in the Arab world.

Illustration of staff working around a table.

Our Team

Illustrated image of Martin Dobson

Martin

Founder

 

When not in work, I love making music. I am currently in 2 choirs and learning the harp.

I also enjoy scrambling up mountains and spending time with family.

          LinkedIn

  • LinkedIn
kelvin.png

Kelvin

Company Director

 

Outside of Easy Read I like football, walking and playing padel. I listen to a lot of podcasts - particularly true crime documentaries. You may find me hunting down some old vinyl during the weekend, looking for more soul records to add to the collection.

          LinkedIn

  • LinkedIn
Illustrated image of Jack Fowler.

Jack

Operations Manager

 

Outside Easy Read I’m into books, films and boardgames. I enjoy both playing and watching football, and have a season ticket at Tottenham Hotspur. I’m also a professional musician, singing and playing guitar with Groovy Revolution - one of the country’s top wedding bands. 

Illustrated image of Danielle Magowan.

Danielle

Illustrator & Designer

 

In my spare time I love walking around craft fairs meeting and chatting to local creatives. I also love sitting in front of the tv with either a sketchbook or crochet hook in my hand!

Tom.png

Tom

Senior Technical Writer

When I'm not doing Easy Read I love going to the theatre and making my own plays. On weekends I'm often strolling around local parks, looking for views and heading for a good pub. I’m also a sucker for quizzes, disco music and my cat, Pauline.

Illustrated image of Lewis

Lewis

Technical Writer & Artworker

Outside of work I like getting together with friends and family, hill walking, going to see live music or theatre and trying to grow things in my garden.

Meg.png

Meg

Technical Writer

Outside of work I am into lots of sporty activities, especially netball and badminton! To relax in my down time I love reading a good book or going on a woodland walk.

karen.png

Karen

Technical Writer

Outside of work, I enjoy crocheting, especially at local Knit and Natter groups. I also enjoy reading, and spending time with my family, including my two daughters. I have joined a local choir, and enjoy making music again.

Illustrated image of Cara

Cara

Accounts

Outside of work I enjoy being outdoors: running, walking and skiing around the mountains where I live. I enjoy cooking, listening to podcasts, reading and spending time with my family, in particular my two young children and dog Juno. 

presley.png

Presley

Web-accessibility support

Outside of work I am studying Computer Games Design at university in Manchester. I enjoy playing videogames & basketball and spending time with my family.

bottom of page